The Auditorium Theatre 2017-2018 SEASON Preview

The Auditorium Theatre
Photo: John Boehm and The Auditorium Theatre

"The Theatre for the People"

The Auditorium Theatre announces its 2017-18 Season under new Chief Executive Officer, Tania Castroverde Moskalenko, and its new tagline, “The Theatre for the People.”

Shen Wei Dance Arts
Photo: Stephanie Berger

Shen Wei Dance Arts

Folding and Right Of

Choreographer and Visual Artist Shen Wei

Saturday, September 23, 2017 at 7:30PM
Sunday, September 24, 2017 at 2PM

Les Ballets de Monte Carlo- La Belle

Artistic Director and choreographer Jean-Christophe Maillot

A reinterpretation of Marius Petipa’s classic ballet The Sleeping Beauty.

Saturday, March 3, 2018 at 7:30PM
Sunday, March 4, 2018 at 2PM

Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 | 7:30PM
Thursday, March 8, 2018 | 7:30PM
Friday, March 9, 2018 | 11AM – One hour student matinee performance
Friday, March 9, 2018 | 7:30PM
Saturday, March 10, 2018 | 2PM
Saturday, March 10, 2018 | 8PM
Sunday, March 11, 2018 | 3PM

Artistic Director Robert Battle

Six performances closing with Revelations

Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater
Photo: Andrew Eccles
Ballet Nacional de Cuba
Photo: Nancy Reyes

Ballet Nacional de Cuba- Don Quixote

Friday, May 18, 2018 | 7:30PM

Saturday, May 19, 2018 | 7:30PM

Sunday, May 20, 2018 | 3PM

The American Music Series

Kathleen Battle – Underground Railroad – A Spiritual Journey

Saturday, September 30, 2017 | 7:30PM
Program of songs inspired by the Underground Railroad, the secret network that helped bring 19th-century slaves to freedom

Ella & Lena – The Ladies and Their Music

Friday, November 17, 2017 | 7:30PM
Director Joan Curto

Too Hot to Handel: The Jazz-Gospel Messiah

Friday, January 12, 2018 | 11AM – One hour student matinee performance
Saturday, January 13, 2018 | 7:30PM
Sunday, January 14, 2018 | 3PM
Inspired by Dr. King’s message of “Beloved Community"

"Made in Chicago" Dance Series

Ensemble Español Spanish Dance Theater

Friday, October 6, 2017 | 11AM – One hour student matinee performance
Friday, October 6, 2017 | 7:30PM
Blends flamenco, classical, contemporary, and traditional forms of dance.

Hubbard Street Dance Chicago

Friday, March 23, 2018 | 7:30PM
Saturday, March 24, 2018 | 7:30PM
Choreographer Alejandro Cerrudo

Giordano Dance Chicago

Saturday, June 9, 2018 | 7:30PM

Giordano Dance Chicago
Photo: Gorman Cooke Photography

A Special Event

A GOLDEN CELEBRATION OF DANCE:
The 50th Anniversary of the Auditorium Theatre’s Re-Opening

Sunday, November 12, 2017 | 3PM
Performance by the New York City Ballet

starring Suzanne Farrell and Edward Villella

 

2017 ANNUAL GALA
Edward Villella, Honorary Chair

Includes a ticket to the Golden Celebration of Dance performance, followed by the Gala Reception and Dinner at the Standard Club.

Honors Sonia Florian of the NIB Foundation with the second annual Adler and Sullivan Award, recognizing her dedication to the arts and the Auditorium Theatre. When purchasing your subscription, please add the Gala Reception and Dinner. For more information on Gala sponsorships, tables, and tickets, please contact Kelly Saroff at 312.341.2364 orksaroff@auditoriumtheatre.org.

The People's Choice

The Vietnam War – A Conversation with Ken Burns and Lynn Novick

Thursday, September 7, 2017 | 6:30PM

A Conversation with Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Monday, September 11, 2017 | 7PM

David Sedaris

Wednesday, November 1, 2017 | 8PM

Ken Burns
Photo: Justin Altman

Student Matinee Series to K-12 students throughout its 2017-18 Season. This year, there will be special hour-long performances of Ensemble Español, Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, and Too Hot to Handel: The Jazz-Gospel Messiahopen to students throughout the Chicagoland area. Tickets are $10-$12. For more information on student matinees, call 312.341.2357 or emailsales@auditoriumtheatre.org

Subscription packages and tickets for groups of 10 or more are on sale now. Individual tickets for shows go on sale later this year.

For further details please visit http://www.auditoriumtheatre.org/

Photo Credits:

Ensemble Español Dance Theater photo by Joe Davis

Hubbard Street Dance Chicago photo by Todd Rosenburg

All photos courtesy of Auditorium Theatre, unless otherwise indicated.

Note: This is now added to the Picture this Post round up of 2017 2018 SEASON PREVIEWS.  To find out more about other exciting programming coming to Chicago’s stages this upcoming season, click here to read — 

2017-2018 SEASON PREVIEWS– Guide to Upcoming Shows in Chicago

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *