Music of Remembrance Presents ART FROM ASHES — Preview



Monday, January 22, 2024, at 5:30 pm


Benaroya Hall (200 University Street), Seattle, Washington


Free with reservation.
For more information and tickets, visit the Music of Remembrance website.

A spokesperson describes the event as follows:

“…Art From Ashes, is a defiant program of cultural resistance highlighting the human capacity to survive – and create extraordinary art – in the face of tremendous injustice…”

Full Program:

  • Franz Schreker: Intermezzo for Strings (University of Washington Chamber Orchestra, conducted by David Rahbee)
  • Ernest Bloch: “Nigun” from Three Pictures of Chassidic Life (Featuring Seohyun Hwang, violin)
  • Pre-war melody: Auschwitz Tango (Poetry by Irka Janowski, Featuring Karen Early Evans, mezzo-soprano)
  • Jozef Kropinski: Zál Tango (Featuring Karen Early Evans, mezzo-soprano)
  • Gideon Klein: Duo for Violin and Cello (Featuring Tokuji Miyasaka, violin, and Leyna Kitahama, cello)
  • Viktor Ullmann: Yiddish Songs (Featuring Northwest Boychoir and Seattle Girls Choir)
  • Jake Heggie: Finale from Farewell, Auschwitz (Featuring Megan Parker, soprano, Karen Early Evans, mezzo-soprano, Erich Parce, baritone, Northwest Boychoir, Seattle Girls Choir)

Music of Remembrance Ensemble: Laura DeLuca, clarinet; Mikhail Shmidt, violin; Walter Gray, cello; Jonathan Green, double bass; Mina Miller, piano.

Photo Courtesy of Music of Remembrance.

Share this:

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *